ASRA Pre-K Task Force: Connecting pre-k champions in Alabama

In 2012, the Alabama School Readiness Alliance formed the Pre-K Task Force to grow connections among existing pre-k champions and identify short- and long-term strategies to increase public investments in high-quality, voluntary pre-k in Alabama. The Pre-K Task Force is made up of prominent Alabama educators, business leaders, philanthropists, children’s advocates, and representatives from the military, medical and legal fields.

In 2012, the Pre-K Task Force kicked-off a ten-year campaign to expand our state's high quality, voluntary pre-kindergarten program to all families in Alabama. In the two years since the Pre-K Task Force recommendations were released, state leaders have doubled investments in the First Class Pre-K program.

Pre-K Task Force Recommendations

Click Here for 2015 Updated Pre-K Task Force recommendations

Pre-K Task Force Members

Pre-K Task Force Co-Chairs
Mike Luce, President and COO, Harbert Management, Inc.
Bob Powers, President, The Eufaula Agency
ASRA Pre-K Task Force Members
Carolyn Akers, Executive Director, Mobile Area Education Foundation
Dee Ard, President, Alabama Association for Young Children; Early Care Team Leader, Head Start/Early Head Start, CAPNA
Jeremy L. Arthur, President, Chamber of Commerce Association of Alabama
Florence Bellamy, Past President, Alabama Association of School Boards
Melanie Bridgeforth, Executive Director, VOICES for Alabama's Children
Brian Bucher, Regional President, PNC Bank
Billy Canary, President and CEO, Business Council of Alabama
Jeff Coleman, President and CEO, Coleman World Group
Charles Collat, Sr., Chairman Emeritus, Mayer Electric Supply
Deborah Lynn Davis, Director, Wetumpka Preschool & Child Development Center
Marquita Davis, Executive Director, JCCEO
David Donaldson, Vice President, Governmental & Community Relations, Vulcan Materials Company
Matthew Durdin, Director, State Legislative Programs-Senate, Alabama Farmers Federation
Walter Gonsoulin, Superintendent, Fairfield City Schools
Gillian Goodrich, Trustee, Mike and Gillian Goodrich Charitable Foundation
Phil Hammonds, Retired Superintendent, Jefferson County Public Schools; Co-Chair, Education Work Group,
BOLD GOALS Coalition of Central Alabama
James Harrison, Jr., Chairman and CEO, Harco Drug, Retired
Sally Howell, Executive Director, Alabama Association of School Boards
Liz Huntley, Associate, Lightfoot Franklin & White, LLC
Johnny Johns, President and CEO, Protective Life
Tom Joiner, Geologist, Tom Joiner & Associates, Retired
Shelley Jones, Community Volunteer and Retired Elementary School Principal
Drew Langloh, President, United Way of Central Alabama
Barbara Larson, Executive Director, Leadership Alabama
Linda Lee, Executive Director, Alabama Chapter - American Academy of Pediatrics
Jay Love, Former State Representative; Co-Chair, Business Education Alliance
Harriet Renorda McFarlin, President, Alabama Head Start Association; Region IV Head Start Association Board of Directors
Frank “Trippy” McGuire, District Judge, Covington County
Sue McInnish, Executive Director, Alabama Civil Justice Foundation
Maurice Mercer, Financial Services Specialist, Regions Financial Corporation; Pelham City Council, Place 4
Joe Morton, Former State Superintendent of Education, Co-Chair, Business Education Alliance
Caroline Novak, President, A+ Education Partnership
Jim Page, President and CEO, Tuscaloosa Chamber of Commerce
Major General Butch Pair, US Army, Retired
Gail Piggott, Executive Director, Alabama Partnership for Children
Sean Ryan, Wealth Advisor, Wells Fargo Private Bank, Birmingham
Barry Sadler, Retired Superintendent, Eufaula City Schools
Kristina Scott, Executive Director, Alabama Possible
Ann Sikes, Executive Director, Montgomery Education Foundation
Zeke Smith, Executive Vice President, Alabama Power Company
Christie Steigerwald, Owner, Kid Plus Learning Center, Foley
The Honorable Vaughn Stewart, Mayor of Anniston
Jera Stribling, Executive Director, Joseph S. Bruno Charitable Foundation
Lissa Tucker, Director of Governmental Relations, Alabama Association of School Boards
Casey Wardynski, Superintendent, Huntsville City Schools
Leila Watson, Attorney, Cory, Watson, Crowder & DeGaris
James C. Wiley, MD, FAAP, Founder of FOCUS Pediatric Clinic, Mobile